Unraveling

Lingering Words

For Sunday Scribblings  #231  Wait
http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/

Lingering  Words  (4/26/07)

When asked why, how he could
thrust words, like sharp
poisoned-tipped darts;
toxic venom which penetrated
soft skin, made its way slowly
into bloodstream, burning path
that sought beating heart,

he always said,  “I didn’t
mean it like that.”

When asked how it was meant,
he’d shrug, mumble, “I don’t know,
but not like that.”

So, waited twenty years,
for that moment, when it would
be made clear, all click
into place, like puzzle pieces
sliding together with precise fit,
and he could finally say
what he really meant.

Stopped waiting.

Elizabeth Crawford  published 9/5/10

16 Comments

  1. Was it twenty wasted years?

  2. Ouch.

    • It’s okay Lilibeth, it was a long time ago. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

      Elizabeth

  3. Oh Brian, such a huge question. No, it wasn’t wasted, but it was also far from happy on many levels. We had four children and each of them was affected in some way by this ‘miscommunication'(for lack of a better word). They are still struggling with those affects. So am I on some levels.

    It does make me sad, but sad is not impossible to deal with. And that process holds it own rewards. I found a quote that I use in such circumstances. I can’t cite it, but my paraphrse goes something like this: “One can learn some of the most important lessons, from the worse sources, if ones heart is in the right place.” I have learned a great deal form my past experiences, and will continue to do so. And with each lesson, I think, my heart is moved closer to that right place.

    Elizabeth

    • The only question worth asking is a hard question.

      Are you ‘into’ quantum physics?

      • Now, I’m laughing. No, I am not. Anything that is remotely related to Math is a strange place to me. I can and have learned it, but there is this amazing phenomenon within my brain when it comes to numbers. I can learn them quite easily, but I can’t seem to keep that knowledge for some reason. It’s as if the learning aspect is the important thing, once learned, it’s gone, like it’s never been.

        Elizabeth
        PS that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy Dean Koontz novels, even though I am aware that many of his later books are based on theories of quantum physics.

  4. a sad story but I really liked the way you wrote it.
    your phrasing was great.
    “words like poison tipped darts…..that saught beating heart” is good writing. I knew him instanly and I felt your pain.
    You painted the “picture that is worth a thousand words” in one short paragraph. nice work

    • Thank you Old Grizz. This is an old poem that I pulled out in response to the prompt. I had been looking over an entire file recently rediscovered, and so the pieces were in my mind and thoughts when I saw the prompt. Figured they need their moment in daylight like all the rest. It is an old wound, but they often form thick, hard scars if not tended properly, and for me, that means writing about them.

      Elizabeth

  5. hm, its like that for many people isnt it. Sad but true. And well written 🙂

    • Thank you Alice and yest it is true for many. Glad you enjoyed the writing,

      Elizabeth

  6. Powerful piece Elizabeth – very raw. I like your choice of words – the language seemed very masculine and dominating which fit the subject perfectly..Jae (thanks for your visit :))

    • Thanks Jae Rose, but the language was spoken only long after he was gone from my life. Some of us take longer than others to come out from the shadows of the past.

      Elizabeth

  7. From the comments above and your replies it is sad to read the truth in your work. Even the most bitter experiences can be stepping stones to a better and happier life. I just wish the poem was not true for you.

    • Old Egg, it taught me a great deal, and one of the most important things of my life. I doubted my ability to speak clearly and be understood. The aftermath was that I found writing and was driven to express myself in the most honest way possible. And that certainly isn’t a bad thing. We all have some experiences in life that are sad, or worse. Those shouldn’t be kept in a dark corner where they have a tendency to fester. It was freeing to post this poem, just as it was written. Thanks for your sensitivity,

      Elizabeth

  8. I love the depth and sense of resolution in this. Powerful and well written, you told the story well…

    • Thank you Susannah. It certainly isn’t an uncommon one, so the task here, for me, was to approach it in a different manner. Am glad you appreciated it,

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

