Unraveling

One Legacy

 

For Sunday Scribblings: #238  Curious
http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/

One Legacy

Have always been curious.
Gotten fingers burned, hands slapped,
but that never stopped me for long.
 
See her, that good little girl
her head of wild curls, fidgeting
on that chair in the corner.
 
Lean in to whisper, to warn her,
“Sitting still never works,” see her eyes light up,
begin to dance with another chance
 
to find even one of those answers.
 
She once looked like me, then swiftly
became my daughters. But, waters
of life keep flowing, creating a breeze
 
that ruffles leaves on trees, fanning
the flame that now burns in eyes
of curious and loving granddaughters.
 
So, I continue to sing my siren’s
song, and they have learned how to hum along,
mouths opened wide to the evening tide
 
with its whisper of unending questions.
 
Elizabeth Crawford  10/23/10
 
 
 

 

21 Comments

  1. Interesting how one’s legacy passes from one generation to another. How delightful to see some of your qualities in another. Without curiosity and questions, there would be no discoveries.

    • Even as a kid, I was confused by those statements about my asking too many questions. How does one learn without them? And yes, it is very satisfying to see that same curiosity alive and well in my grandchildren. Thank you Mary, for stopping in and leaving your kind words,

      Elizabeth

  2. unbelievable…can’t tell you how much I liked this…how quickly we all forget what its like to be a child. Great work…

    Even as a child, I knew it was important to make notes. I wanted to remember and that’s the best way as far as I am concerned. Thank you for your comments and welcome as well,

    Elizabeth

  3. My daughter is tactful and polite which I am not, LOL. But she did manage to learn strength from me. I can see the water flowing between your daughters and your granddaughter! Beautiful metaphor!

    Diane, this isn’t where I intended to take this poem, but as often happens, the words have a mind of their own and make their intentions clear, at some point. I’m just along for the ride and I certainly like the surprises. I think it is incredibly important that we see what we have given to our children and their children. Some only look to see what isn’t there, never know the joy of knowing what is.

    Elizabeth

  4. ana

    What a wonderful trait to pass on – curiousity! Long live the legacy.

    Thank you Ana. I recently wrote about how I inherited that trait from my father, who constantly watched and then asked questions, or at least went looking for answers to the ones that emerged. I’m just passing it on and enjoying watching what happens.

    Elizabeth

  5. How wonderful that you make reference to sirens, who typically were enough to set ships off course, enough to shipwreck a man…women saddled with the awesome power for destruction…and here instead I see a beautiful gift being passed on from one generation of woman to another that sirens are actually positive and to be encouraged…that verve and light in the eye is to be kindled. Nice.

    • Thank you Wendy. I chose the word siren very carefully. It doesn’t have to pertain only to feminine wiles, bent on destruction. It can be anything that catches our attention and pulls us from our regular path, toward both good, and not so efficient paths. Glad you noticed,

      Elizabeth

  6. Lovely piece Elizabeth – the rhythm really carries through and takes you on the journey..thanks as ever for your visit..Jae

    • Hi Jae, glad you like it and thanks for stopping and reading,

      Elizabeth

  7. It reminds me of my favorite movie, Antiona’s Line. Thanks

    • Annell, have never heard of the movie. Will now have to go looking for it so I can understand your comment, lol. That’s not a hardship, I’ve been handering to watch some good movies for weeks now. You’ve just gotten me realizing that I have to move and go get them before that happens, yes? Thanks Annell, 🙂

      Elizabeth

  8. Very lovely poem. I always wish I had daughters… but I think of my mother and grandmother and what they passed down. Thank you!

    • Khambagirl, thank you for your kind words. I did the same thing after writing it. Thought of my Mother who started painting when she was 60, and my grandmother who could get a crowd laughing and giggling even at 90. I may have to do a reverse piece to accompany this one.

      Elizabeth

  9. Elizabeth, I wanna use a word like brilliant, but both brighter and more homespun. This is a tornado of moving words!

    fingers burned, hands slapped
    head of wild curls (I can feel them growing)
    encouraged (inside/outside, isn’t it?)
    you, but then, your daughters, plus one more again
    water flows, breeze ruffles, fanning flames
    (burning curiousity!) (we know, we know!)
    a siren’s song (you’d of thought, we’d guessed by now!)
    mouths open wide

    (No mystery “filler” in this poem. Every word right from the lion’s mouth (no waste)). The transitions of motion and material (and relation) within this poem are staggering (my little head spinning round and round). But it was all so much worth the effort! ~Neil

    • Neil, confession time? I almost didn’t post it at all. Realized I was covering a lot of space, levels, and layers, very quickly and was afraid I might leave the reader behind somewhere because I had done so. But, also felt it was just a bit ragged around the edges and wanted to take a bit more time with it. Then realized I could post it as is, or just forget it. Wasn’t willing to do that so here it be, as they say.

      Your very generous words tell me I made the right decision. I like the poem more each time I read it. And realized that what I was thinking were ragged edges, is actually the course that curiosity sets us on, dragging us from one association, or connection, after another in very fast succession, to keep us digging and looking. As they say, one question leads to another and another, and that is just what the poem did as I was writing it. Love it when the process works and I just let it happen.

      Elizabeth

  10. Torn edges are very beautiful!

    • Believe it or not, I found that out when I had to tear 150 sheets of hand made paper for a book of poems I wrote and published. That book still remains one of my favorite creations,

      Elizabeth

  11. this is just beautiful.. curiosity is always there in a legacy!

    My Scribbling Is Here

    • Thank you very much Leo. I helped my nephew write a tribute to my Mother, that he read at her funeral. We had a long discussion about what a legacy truly is and can be. The discussion stays in my memory, more so than the words he eventually spoke, although those were quite stunning and memorable.

      Elizabeth

  12. Wow, Elizabeth! My daughter is 3,000 miles away and I can feel her sitting beside me. I’ve passed down all my best habits and a few that might get her in the soup (like activism). This generational take on the Curious prompt is delightful.

    First timer here – won’t be the last!
    Amy Barlow Liberatore

    • Thank you Amy. I know I’ve been on your site and liked what I found there and glad you have done the same. I find it curious what people think they are passing on, and what their children actually take away with them, and the huge difference between the two.

      I once sat in on a discussion with a room full of women who were talking about children leaving home. A wonderfully articulate white-haired individual told us that although we may take tons of time and effort, packing our children’s suitcases for that eventual reality, more than likely when the time comes, they will open that suitcase, grab the toothbrush and some of the photos, and leave the rest. There were a few gasps, and she smiled softly and said, “Don’t worry, eventually they come back and take whatever is left behind. You just have to be patient.”

      Welcome and I do hope you come back,

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

