Unraveling

Tree At Sixty-Four

 

For We Write Poems prompt  Numbers Game
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Note: Have been doing the November PAD at Poetic Asides. Several poets have used the Shadorma poetic form, so thought I’d try. Shadorma is a Spanish 6-line syllabic poem of 3/5/3/3/7/5 syllable lines respectively. It can be repeated as often as one likes.

Tree At Sixty-Four

Sixty-four
rings in tree rooted
deeply here
home alone
with myself, I live grateful
for more of the same.

Sixty-four
is not bad, never
sad, filled
with friends and
family, branches reaching
always up and out.

Sixty-four
is about living
with hopeful
heart and mind
that find peace in bark-lined
trunk of own choosing.

Elizabeth Crawford  12/1/10

19 Comments

  1. Elizabeth,
    First of all I want to say this poem is filled with contentment. Which such a nice place to be in life. I feel a sense of harmony reading it. Well done. Now for the other thing we must have a cosmic connection, lol, I wrote this form of poetry to the big tent for Friday. Though mine is not filled with much harmony.
    Pamela

    • Pamela, I’m not usually one that enjoys poetic forms. Old habit, I guess. But having spent these past months reading really good poetry, some of which was obviously in poetic forms of all different kinds, I’m trying to break free of my mental block in that arena. We all have to grow-up at some point or another(some of us far more slowly than others). I am basically a rebel at heart, but I am finding that that is interfering with my own ability to stretch whatever skills I may possess. So, I guess I’ll be trying some new and different things. But then, I think that is one of the things that the PAD has done for many of us. Stretched us and our willingness. And we do have a cosmic connection, we are poets, lol. Thanks for the comments, Pamela,

      Elizabeth

  2. Elizabeth
    I love the extended metaphor, especially when you slip from tree to you. The last two lines are my favourite. I feel the peace.
    Margo

    • Thank you very much Margo. I once wrote a poem about leaning back against a tree, and through the poem, becoming the tree. This poem reminds me of that other one and you seemed to pick that up in the reading. And the last two lines got changed about five times before I found the exact right words I wanted to express. Glad you feel the peace, it has come upon me slowly, and more deeply during these past months as I’ve gotten back inside my first love of writing poems. Again, thank you for noticing,

      Elizabeth

  3. Irene

    Ahhh..the tree of contentment is also the tree of enchantment. A nice Shadorma, which rhymes with Chardonnay. It’s a happy place to be Elizabeth.

    • Yes it is, Irene. Think that might have something to do with the end of the PAD Challenge? At least the first half of the process? The second half may be the harder part. Cutting and slashing ones own words is always a tough act. Thanks for your kind and generous words, they are always appreciated,

      Elizabeth

  4. Very well done, Elizabeth, and filled with hopefulness and peace. Couldn’t ask for more.

    • Thank you Mary and it means so much more coming from you. The writing of poems for the PAD is done, so am hoping you find some added moments of that same hopefulness and peace. That is my wish for you during the coming season,

      Hugs my friend,

      Elizabeth

      • Thanks, Elizabeth…your wish touches me greatly…one day at a time. Blessings always find their way of surfacing in unexpected ways, so I am hopeful!

        Glad to hear that Mary. Am keeping you in my thoughts. Image: You in a very soft bubble of white light, being nurtured in all the ways you need to be. Hugs,

        Elizabeth

  5. A lovely, gentle read.

    • Thank you Tilly Bud, that’s pretty much how I feel when I remember that I am a sister to trees, and a maker of stones.

      Elizabeth

  6. Elizabeth, the idea that we can choose our own bark is intriguing, specially coming where it does in the poem.

    I am not normally a fan of syllable-counting forms – usually they lead to a lack of flow and rhythm in a stressed language. Yours is the opposite: it flows, and reads aloud beautifully.

    • Viv, I knew that the bark had to be mentioned. The first verse is the roots, second the branches, but the bark of the tree covers the actual living space within it. Choosing what covers ones heart is what life and living are all about.

      And, until now, I normally steered clear of sllabic forms myself and for the very same reasons. But, as I think I said above, it is time to stretch and this tree is reaching in small ways. Thanks for the wonderful comments,

      Elizabeth

  7. Tress are a metaphor for time. I would like to age like them. Solid, rooted to the ground.

    retrieval

    • Oh, I do agree Gautami, but there is also a restlessness within me that occasionally wants to break any and all tethers and move. That’s when I go and walk, or sit alone with the trees and just listen to their whispers. They help me to stay, in those moments, when I’d just like to run away from all of it. We are such contradictory creatures. Thanks for your presence here, it means more to me than you know,

      Elizabeth

  8. amazing…
    Glad to Land at your magical poetry land today,
    How are you?

    • Thanks Jingle and I am doing just fine.

      Elizabeth

  9. The tree imagery did it for me in this poem. I, too, think of people as trees, as we try to take root wherever we land. Beautiful.

    -Nicole

    • Hello Nicole, trees have a very personal symbolism for me. They always have and probably always will. I find that I write about trees when I want a certain steadiness within my existence. Thanks for stopping,

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

