Unraveling

I Saw Sunday Week #16

For I Saw Sunday: Week 16
http://isawsunday.blogspot.com/


This is a painting my mother did in 1985. She began painting after her 60th birthday. She had always been a home-person, preferring family and housework. We didn’t know she could draw, she kept it a secret. But she had a bout with cancer just before she turned sixty, and after recovering, she went on her own, to find herself a teacher who simply encouraged her to find her own way into and across a canvas. Before she turned 75, she was invited to hang her paintings for two different one woman showings.

This painting takes pride of place in my living room since my mother’s death. The picture you see was taken with my brand new camera. My mother is a constant reminder of rebirth, new life, at any age. She was a quietly profound role model for me. I knew, simply by watching her, that it is never too late to begin to nurture and feed ones dreams, and to see them to fruition. Since losing her last year, I have experienced a rebirth in my poetry and writing. I have found my own canvas and have learned to dance in and on it. I begin this new year grateful to her quiet and persistent example. I know myself to be a part of her legacy. I am 64 and seeing my dreams come to fruition. Her name is Helen. It means “bright illumination.”  She was all of that and more.

Thanks for stopping by and I wish you all a dream nurturing new year.

8 Comments

  1. I love what you wrote about your mother. I know you are very proud of her, and I know she is very proud of you! I beautiful painting! Straight from her heart, to mine! Through you I feel I know her, thank you so much for that. I have been painting for over five decades, but with each new painting, it is a beginning. As if no other brush stroke had ever been applied. It is never to late to begin, to continue, to try, we work toward the finish, dancing in our own red shoes!

    The camera works well! Makes us all professionals.

    • Confession, I’m short, so my attempt was looking up, and although it was usable, my daughter is five inches taller than I am and has used a camera a great deal more than I have. Hers was a straight on shot that we could easily crop. I only said it was taken with my new camara. I transferred it to the computer, does that count? Lol. And I have loved this painting for years. Was elated when my siblings split up her paintings and I could bring it home. She didn’t think of herself as an Artist, and would giggle whenever anyone used that definition for her person. She remains a deep rich influence upon me.

      Thanks for your comments, Annell, and yes I was thinking about those red shoes when I wrote this earlier,

      Elizabeth

  2. This is just beautiful, such a wonderful painting by a wonderful lady … a geuine pleasure to read, thank you so much for sharing it.
    Wishing you a very happy new year :o)

    • Deborah, she has been on my mind a great deal this past week. Our first Holiday without her and that was bound to happen. But this painting speaks so clearly to me and I kept stopping and looking at it this week. That’s why it found its way here.

      Thanks for stopping and commenting,

      Elizabeth

  3. Beautifully written, Elizabeth. I love this story and how she quietly pursued her dreams and saw them through. Inspiring for sure. I know she is very proud of you!!!!

    • Thank you Sherry, and even more so for your photos of the icey shough and wonderful words of contemplation. You paint with both as beautifully as my mother did with oil paints. And thank you for finding inspiration in my words, I cerainly found it in yours,

      Elizabeth

  4. What a wonderful painting and how lucky you are to have it. Thank you for sharing it here with us.

    Congratulations on getting the hang of your camera too. 🙂

    Wishing you a very happy new year Elizabeth.

    Thanks for joining in with I Saw Sunday. x

    • This has been a week of both new and old. When I decided to use the painting, I also realized that I wanted it to stand alone. But, it represents so many moments of the past week and years.

      Thanks for stopping by and I really like I Saw Sunday,

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

